Marvel Announces ‘Phase Two’

Sequels and New Movies Confirmed at Comic-Con 2012

July 14, 2012 by

Now that Marvel is done with their first wave of blockbusters that have all killed at the box office, today at their Comic-Con panel they announced what they’re calling “Phase Two,” which consists of continuing all of their current series and even adding a couple new franchises based on other comics in their family. Check out their schedule as it currently stands over the course of the next three years. And yes, that’s a raccoon with a gun; more info below.

  • Iron Man 3 – May 3, 2013
  • Thor: The Dark World – November 8, 2013
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier – April 4, 2014
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – August 1, 2014
  • Ant-Man – 2014 (date not confirmed)
  • The Avengers 2 – 2015 (date not confirmed)

For those unfamiliar with Guardians of the Galaxy, it ties in to The Avengers universe, and that teaser during the credits of The Avengers with Thanos looks to now also be a setup for his role in Guardians before The Avengers 2. The cast of Guardians includes: Drax, Groot, Star-Lord, Gamora, and Rocket Raccoon, which you can view in the concept image below.

As if a gun-wielding raccoon isn’t already weird enough, Marvel also showed off test footage of another one of their new series based on the “Ant-Man” comic. No date has been set for Ant-Man, but it’s believed to also be released some time in 2014. Ant-Man will be produced by Edgar Wright, who swerved everyone by saying all week that he was in London and then appearing at the Con to make the announcement. Wright had this to say on Twitter:

I am sorry I lied that was in London and not San Diego. I will go to hell. But I shall make Ant-Man first…